Home | Life | Speech | News & Events | Activity | Photo Gallery | Media Coverage | Contact
  Download Centre

"Jana Gana Mana" (Bengali?? ?? ??Hindi?? ?? ??) is the National Anthem of India. Written in highly Sanskritized (Tatsama)Bengali, it is the first of five stanzas of a Brahmo hymn composed and scored by Nobel laureate Rabindranath Tagore. It was first sung at theCalcutta Session of the Indian National Congress on 27 December 1911. "Jana Gana Mana" was officially adopted by the Constituent Assembly as the Indian national anthem on January 24, 1950. 27 December 2011 marked the completion of 100 years of Jana Gana Mana since it was sung for the first time. A formal rendition of the national anthem takes fifty-two seconds. A shortened version consisting of the first and last lines (and taking about 20 seconds to play) is also staged occasionally.

Vande Mataram (Bengali script: ????? ???????Hindi/Sanskrit: ????? ??????; Vande Mataram "I bow to thee, Mother") is a poem from the famed novel Anandamath which was written by Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay in 1882. It was written in Bengali and Sanskrit. It is a hymn to Goddess Durga, identified as the national personification of India. It played a vital role in the Indian independence movement, first sung in a political context by Rabindranath Tagore at the 1896 session of the Indian National Congress. In 1950 (after India's independence), the song's first two verses were given the official status of the "national song" of the Republic of India, distinct from the national anthem of India Jana Gana Mana.
Lyrics Rabindranath Tagore
Music Rabindranath Tagore
Adopted January 24, 1950
Lyrics Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay
Music Jadunath Bhattacharya
Adopted January 24, 1950
Home | Life | Speech | News & Events | Activity | Photo Gallery | Media Coverage | Contact | Sitemap

2018 www.abhijitmukherjee.in | Developed by IT-Asset All rights reserved.